Charleston is a third-class Missouri city and uses a City Council – City Manager form of government. Five Council members are elected at-large to serve three year, staggered terms. City Council sets policy, approves an annual budget and large expenditures, and hires a City Manager to manage the city’s daily business affairs.  A city election is held each April. Following that election, the Mayor is elected  by the City Council members to serve a one year term.

City Council meetings are held every second Tuesday of the month at City Hall, and the public is always welcome to attend.

City Council Members:     Phil Halter, Mayor
Jackie Whiteside
Clark Dugan
Rick Toon
Patrick Farmer

Municipal Court Clerk Charla Clark
City Manager:     Phil Robinette  
City Clerk:     Stefanie Self  
City Treasurer:     Stefanie Self   
City Collector:     Ali Williford  


The city also has a Board of Planning and Zoning with members appointed by the Mayor and approved by City Council. 
Contact any of these individuals at City Hall by calling 573-683-3325

Mail address: City of Charleston; 204 N. Main St.; Charleston, MO 63834